Packing for Adventure

I have spent many hours imagining my time in China and look forward to sharing the details of my weeks of adventure…a gift from my family to keep me “busy” in the first year of retirement from my “forever” Durham Academy career. I will be thinking of them often during the days ahead.

My hope is to post a few photos and a short narrative every day. Sounds like a reasonable task, but it may be more difficult if wifi is not readily available.

I will also be missing the canine members of the family. They will be well cared for by Bill and Mack, but have grown accustomed to my new habit of being close to home, providing lots of treats and allowing “the pack” time for sleeping on the couch during the day.

I am eager to travel far with less and will be paring down the elements until departure. The camera and lenses are a no brainer, but not sure if I want binoculars. Taking the iPad loaded with new (to me) art apps, books, movies and the New Yorker issues I have been saving for the long flight. Will take my phone and can receive text messages for 5 cents and send one for 50. (Call minutes are $1.99 each, so the phone will not be used except for emergency.) Hope to have wifi in the hotels so that I can post a daily blog and check out the extent of Chinese control of information. I think my stamina is good, but the elevation in Tibet can diminish even the most fit traveler…especially because we will be flying in and staying for only three full days in Lhasa (elevation:  11,450 feet.)  Durham’s elevation is about 400 feet.

I will be an interesting month to travel in China. The “big meeting” is in early November to select the new leaders…between 9 and 7. (Hope for the former as that number might allow for the inclusion of a woman.)

I will be looking.

I will be listening…I’ve been told our tour leader Mark (Xiao Fe) Wang is an excellent/knowledgeable teacher.

I will be taking photos. Ha!

dreaming in Chinese,

Bobbie

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment